Tchaikovsky's ballets : Swan lake, Sleeping beauty, Nutcracker

Roland John Wiley

Tchaikovsky's Ballets combines analysis of the music of Swan Lake, Sleeping Beauty, and Nutcracker with a description based on rare and not easily accessible documents of the first productions of these works in imperial Russia. Essential background concerning the ballet audience, the collaboration of composer and ballet-master, and Moscow in the 1860s leads into an account of the first production of Swan Lake in 1877. A discussion of the theatre reforms initiated by Ivan Vsevolozhsky, Director of the Imperial Theatres and Tchaikovsky's patron, prepares us for a study of the still-famous 1890 production of Sleeping Beauty, Tchaikovsky's first collaboration with the choreographer Marius Petipa. Professor Wiley then explains how Nutcracker, which followed two years after Sleeping Beauty, was seen by its producers and audiences in a much less favourable light in 1882 than it is now. The final chapter discusses the celebrated revival of Swan Lake in 1985 by Petipa and Leve Ivanov.

「Nielsen BookData」より


書名 Tchaikovsky's ballets : Swan lake, Sleeping beauty, Nutcracker
著作者等 Wiley, Roland John
シリーズ名 Clarendon paperbacks
Oxford monographs on music
出版元 Clarendon Press;Oxford University Press
刊行年月 c1985
ページ数 xv, 429 p., [8] p. of plates
大きさ 24 cm
ISBN 0198162499
NCID BB12973284
※クリックでCiNii Booksを表示
言語 英語
出版国 イギリス