Violin and cello concertos

[William Walton] ; edited by David Lloyd-Jones

The William Walton Edition is a collected edition of the works of one of England's finest and best-loved composers. Each work is newly edited and engraved, and checked against the composer's manuscript, previous published editions, and all other relevant material. The result is a definitive and fully practical edition, based on the form in which the composer ultimately wished it to be performed. Walton wrote much of his Violin Concerto during a stay in Italy, completing the work in 1939. It was commissioned by Jascha Heifetz and premiered by him later that year. It was revised in 1943 and an Appendix to the volume shows Walton's original solo part, which differs from the later version in details of bowing, articulation, and occasional revision to notes. The Cello Concerto dates from 1956, a commission from Gregor Piatigorsky, who premiered the work in 1957. Walton regarded this work as the best of his three solo concertos. Orchestral material is available on hire.

「Nielsen BookData」より


書名 Violin and cello concertos
著作者等 Walton, William
Lloyd-Jones, David
シリーズ名 William Walton edition
出版元 Oxford University Press Music Department
刊行年月 2011
版表示 William Walton ed
ページ数 1 score (xxix, 311 p.)
大きさ 33 cm
ISBN 9780193360655
NCID BB05250549
※クリックでCiNii Booksを表示
言語 英語
出版国 イギリス