All the sad young men

F. Scott Fitzgerald ; edited by James L.W. West, III

This volume of the Cambridge Fitzgerald Edition, first published in 2007, includes the original nine stories selected by Fitzgerald for All the Sad Young Men, together with eleven additional stories, published between 1925 and 1928, which were not collected by Fitzgerald during his lifetime. This edition is based on extensive surviving manuscripts and typescripts. The volume contains a scholarly introduction, historical notes, a textual apparatus, illustrations, and appendices. The complex history of composition for 'The Rich Boy' is untangled, and Fitzgerald's thorough revision of 'Winter Dreams' is described. Important passages of sexual innuendo and tabloid-style scandal in 'Jacob's Ladder', 'The Love Boat', and 'Magnetism' - removed by editors at the Saturday Evening Post - are restored to the Cambridge texts.

「Nielsen BookData」より


  • Introduction
  • All the Sad Young Men: The Rich Boy
  • Winter Dreams
  • The Baby Party
  • Absolution
  • Rags
  • Martin-Jones and the Pr-nce of W-les
  • The Adjuster
  • Hot and Cold Blood
  • 'The Sensible Thing'
  • Gretchen's Forty Winks
  • Additional Stories, April 1925 - April 1928: One of My Oldest Friends
  • A Penny Spent
  • 'Not in the Guidebook'
  • Presumption
  • The Adolescent Marriage
  • The Dance ['In a Little Town']
  • Your Way and Mine
  • Jacob's Ladder
  • The Love Boat
  • The Bowl
  • Magnetism
  • Record of variants
  • Explanatory notes
  • Illustrations
  • Appendix 1. Passages cut from 'The Rich Boy'
  • Appendix 2. Composition, publication, and earnings.

「Nielsen BookData」より


書名 All the sad young men
著作者等 Fitzgerald, F. Scott
West, James L. W.
Bruccoli Matthew J.
West III James L. W.
Fitzgerald F. Scott
シリーズ名 The Cambridge edition of the works of F. Scott Fitzgerald
出版元 Cambridge University Press
刊行年月 2007
ページ数 xxxvi, 504 p.
大きさ 23 cm
ISBN 0521402409
NCID BA79792110
※クリックでCiNii Booksを表示
言語 英語
出版国 イギリス