Central Europe since 1945

Paul G. Lewis

Central Europe - here, Poland, the German Democratic Republic, Czechoslovakia and Hungary - is at the centre of international attention since the Soviet collapse. An understanding of its postwar history is critical to an appreciation of the challenges facing its present rulers. This is an engrossing account of the installation, development, operation and eventual downfall of its (very different) communist regimes, and the transition to the freedoms and uncertainties of the post-Soviet world. The book covers political, economic, social and cultural change, emphasising the crucial relationships with the USSR throughout.

「Nielsen BookData」より


  • List of maps. Abbreviations and acronyms. Editoral foreward. Preface. Chapter 1. Introduction and General survey. Chapter 2. Foundations of the post-war order in central Europe. Chapter 3. The communist takeover and consolidation of power. Chapter 4. The politics of Stalinism. Chapter 5. Socialist industrialisation and economic development. Chapter 6. Social change and the nature of communist society. Chapter 7. De-Stalinisation and politcal instability. Chapter 8. The politics of mature communism. Chapter 9. The military basis of the communist order. Chapter 10. The Regional Economic Framework. Chapter 11. The end of communist rule. Chapter 12. Post-communism and the transition to democracy. Chapter 13. Conclusion: the weight of history. Guide to further reading. Bibliography. Maps. Index.

「Nielsen BookData」より


書名 Central Europe since 1945
著作者等 Lewis, Paul G.
シリーズ名 The postwar world
出版元 Longman
刊行年月 1994
ページ数 xv, 352 p.
大きさ 22 cm
ISBN 0582036089
NCID BA24108388
※クリックでCiNii Booksを表示
言語 英語
出版国 イギリス