The Philosophy of time

edited by Robin Le Poidevin and Murray MacBeath

This volume provides a balanced set of reviews which introduce the central topics in the philosophy of time. This is the first introductory anthology on the subject to appear for many years; the contributors are distinguished, and two of the essays are specially written for this collection. In their introduction, the editors summarise the background to the debate, and show the relevance of issues in the philosophy of time for other branches of philosophy and for science.

「Nielsen BookData」より


  • Introduction
  • 1: Time and Tense: J. M. E. McTaggart: The Unreality of Time
  • Arthur N. Prior: Changes in Events and Changes in Things
  • D. H. Mellor: The Unreality of Tense
  • 2: Relationism about Time: Sydney Shoemaker: Time without Change
  • Graeme Forbes: Time, Events, and Modality
  • 3: The Direction of Time: Lawrence Sklar: Up and Down, Left and Right, Past and Future
  • Michael Dummett: Bringing about the Past
  • David Lewis: The Paradoxes of Time Travel
  • 4: The Topology of Time
  • Robin Le Poidevin: Relationism and Temporal Topology: Physics or Metaphysics?
  • W. H. Newton-Smith: The Beginning of Time
  • Murray MacBeath: Time's Square
  • Anthony Quinton: Spaces and Times.

「Nielsen BookData」より


書名 The Philosophy of time
著作者等 Le Poidevin, Robin
MacBeath, Murray
Le Poidevin, Robin (Lecturer, Department of Philosophy, University of Leeds)
シリーズ名 Oxford readings in philosophy
出版元 Oxford University Press
刊行年月 c1993
ページ数 vi, 230 p.
大きさ 21 cm
ISBN 019823998X
NCID BA19859632
※クリックでCiNii Booksを表示
言語 英語
出版国 イギリス