The books of Joel, Obadiah, Jonah, Nahum, Habakkuk, and Zephaniah

commentary by John D.W. Watts

The six Old Testament books dealt with in this volume of the Commentary are part of a larger unit originally copied on one scroll and called, for the sake of simplicity, the books of the twelve or minor prophets. The prophetic visions, liturgies and oracles contained in the twelve books were collected over a period of more than 300 years and given their final shape not earlier than the middle of the fifth century BC. In his opening chapter Dr Watts provides the historical and liturgical background to the books and discusses the nature and role of prophecy in worship. In the style established for the series, the NEB translation of the text then follows, divided into brief sections alternating with sections of commentary. The results of Old Testament scholarship and modern theological though are conveyed to the student and the layman in simple language.

「Nielsen BookData」より


  • The footnotes to the NEB text
  • 1. The book of the twelve prophets
  • 2. The unifying setting: prophecy in worship
  • 3. The form and role of foreign prophecy
  • 4. The nature of prophetic liturgies
  • 5. The role of temple prophets
  • 6. The seventh century in Judah
  • 7. The fifth century in Judah
  • 8. The book of Joel
  • 9. The book of Obadiah
  • 10. The book of Jonah
  • 11. The book of Nathum
  • 12. The book of Habakkuk
  • 13. The book of Zephaniah
  • A note on further reading
  • Index.

「Nielsen BookData」より


書名 The books of Joel, Obadiah, Jonah, Nahum, Habakkuk, and Zephaniah
著作者等 Watts, John D. W.
シリーズ名 Cambridge Bible commentary : New English Bible
出版元 Cambridge University Press
刊行年月 1975
ページ数 x, 190 p.
大きさ 22 cm
ISBN 052109870X
NCID BA05061629
※クリックでCiNii Booksを表示
言語 英語
出版国 イギリス