Pericles and Fabius Maximus ; Nicias and Crassus

By (author) Plutarch; Translated by Perrin, B.

Plutarch (Plutarchus), ca. 45120 CE, was born at Chaeronea in Boeotia in central Greece, studied philosophy at Athens, and, after coming to Rome as a teacher in philosophy, was given consular rank by the emperor Trajan and a procuratorship in Greece by Hadrian. He was married and the father of one daughter and four sons. He appears as a man of kindly character and independent thought, studious and learned. Plutarch wrote on many subjects. Most popular have always been the 46 "Parallel Lives," biographies planned to be ethical examples in pairs (in each pair, one Greek figure and one similar Roman), though the last four lives are single. All are invaluable sources of our knowledge of the lives and characters of Greek and Roman statesmen, soldiers and orators. Plutarch's many other varied extant works, about 60 in number, are known as "Moralia" or Moral Essays. They are of high literary value, besides being of great use to people interested in philosophy, ethics and religion. The Loeb Classical Library edition of the "Lives" is in eleven volumes.

「Nielsen BookData」より


書名 Pericles and Fabius Maximus ; Nicias and Crassus
著作者等 Perrin, Bernadotte
Perrin B.
シリーズ名 The Loeb classical library
出版元 W. Heinemann;G.P. Putnam
刊行年月 1916
ページ数 ix, 442 p.
大きさ 17 cm
ISBN 0434990655
NCID BA0035578X
※クリックでCiNii Booksを表示
言語 古典ギリシア語(1453年まで)
原文言語 古典ギリシア語(1453年まで)
出版国 イギリス