The Balkans : a post-communist history

Robert Bideleux and Ian Jeffries

An excellent companion volume to the successful A History of Eastern Europe, this is a country-by-country treatment of the contemporary history of each of the Balkan states: Albania, Bulgaria, Romania, Croatia, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Montenegro and Kosova. With a distinctive conceptual framework for explaining divergent patterns of historical change, the book shifts the emphasis away from traditional cultural explanations and concentrates on the pervasive influence of strongly entrenched vertical power-structures and power-relations. Focusing on political and economic continuities and changes since the 1980s, The Balkans includes brief overviews of the history of each state prior to the 1980s to provide the background to enable all students of Eastern European history to make sense of the more recent developments.

「Nielsen BookData」より


  • 1. Conceptual Frameworks: 'The Balkans' and the Nature of Post-Communist Democratization and Economic Transformations 2. Albania: Between a Rock and a Hard Place 3. Bulgaria: The Devil has all the Best Tunes 4. Romania: The Road to the EU is Paved with Good Intentions 5. Croatia: Paying a Price 6. Serbia: From Serbdom to Pariahdom 7. Bosnia and Herzegovina: The Travails of Coexistence 8. Macedonia: Towards a Bi-National State? 9. Montenegro: To Be or Not to Be? 10. Kosova: The Forging of a Nation and a State 11. The Post-Communist Balkans, the West and the EU: Major Challenges and Contradictions between Rhetoric and Reality

「Nielsen BookData」より


書名 The Balkans : a post-communist history
著作者等 Bideleux, Robert
Jeffries, Ian
出版元 Routledge
刊行年月 2007
ページ数 xix, 620 p.
大きさ 24 cm
ISBN 9780415229623
NCID BA80224807
※クリックでCiNii Booksを表示
言語 英語
出版国 イギリス