The films of Michelangelo Antonioni

Peter Brunette

The Films of Michelangelo Antonioni provides an overview of the Italian director's life and work, and examines six of his most important and intellectually challenging films. L'avventura, La notte, and L'eclisse, released in the early 1960s, form the trilogy that first brought the director to international attention. Red Desert was his first film in colour. Blow-up, shot in English and set in swinging London, became one of the best-known (and most notorious) films of its era. The Passenger, starring Jack Nicholson, is the greatest work of his maturity. Rather than emphasizing the stress and alienation of Antonioni's characters, in this book Peter Brunette places the films in the context of the director's ongoing social and political analysis of the Italy of the great postwar economic boom, and demonstrates also how they are formal exercises that depend on painterly abstraction for their expressive effects.

「Nielsen BookData」より


  • Introduction
  • 1. L'avventura (1960)
  • 2. La notte (1961)
  • 3. L'eclisse (1962)
  • 4. Red Desert (1964)
  • 5. Blow-up (1966)
  • 6. The Passenger (1975)
  • Filmography.

「Nielsen BookData」より


書名 The films of Michelangelo Antonioni
著作者等 Brunette, Peter
Carney, Raymond
シリーズ名 Cambridge film classics
出版元 Cambridge University Press
刊行年月 1998
ページ数 xiii, 186 p.
大きさ 24 cm
ISBN 0521389925
NCID BA3905964X
※クリックでCiNii Booksを表示
言語 英語
出版国 イギリス