The selected plays of John Ford

edited by Colin Gibson

This selection contains the three finest plays of the Stuart dramatist John Ford. The Broken Heart is a classical tragedy of suffering; 'Tis Pity She's a Whore, Ford's best-known play and one still frequently performed, is a tragic story of limitless ambition and social rivalry expressed in sexual terms; Perkin Warbeck is the last great successor to the history plays of Shakespeare. Together they exemplify the unique tone of Ford's drama, in which passion and gravity are united by a playwright with a poetic sense of theatre. This is the only one-volume selection of Ford's plays now available. The texts are modernised and equipped with notes explaining unfamiliar language and historical references. A general introduction gives a brief biography and bibliography; individual introductions deal with the sources and stage history of each play. Longer notes at the back of the book discuss points of staging and interpretation, and there is a full textual apparatus which makes this edition useful for the scholar as well as the student.

「Nielsen BookData」より


  • 1. The Broken Heart
  • 2. 'Tis pity she's a whore
  • 3. Perkin Warbeck.

「Nielsen BookData」より


書名 The selected plays of John Ford
著作者等 Ford, John, 1586-ca.1640
Gibson, Colin
Ford John
シリーズ名 Plays by Renaissance and Restoration dramatists
出版元 Cambridge University Press
刊行年月 1986
ページ数 xvii, 356 p.
大きさ 22cm
ISBN 9780521295451
NCID BA00983148
※クリックでCiNii Booksを表示
言語 英語
出版国 アメリカ合衆国