Saint and singer : Edward Taylor's typology and the poetics of meditation

Karen E. Rowe

This book focuses on the works of America's premier colonial poet, Edward Taylor (1642-1729). This study analyses typology in Taylor's Christographia and Treatise Concerning the Lord's Supper and examining Taylor's adaptations of figural analogies to suit his personal spiritual needs, Professor Rowe advances a theory which unites Taylor's exegetical discipline as a preacher with his creativity as a poet. This is the first work to draw on the collection of unpublished sermons, discovered in 1977, Upon the Types of the Old Testament. Professor Rowe links Taylor's sermons with corresponding poetic meditations, thus providing insights into typological theories, groupings and analogies. In her conclusion, the author sees Taylor as neither metaphysical or baroque, nor a historian in the typological school, but rather as the quintessential Puritan preacher and poet, a contemplative lyricist and devotional typologist in the tradition of Herbert, Milton and Bunyan.

「Nielsen BookData」より

This book focuses on the works of America's premier colonial poet, Edward Taylor (1642-1729). This study analyses typology in Taylor's Christographia and Treatise Concerning the Lord's Supper and examining Taylor's adaptations of figural analogies to suit his personal spiritual needs, Professor Rowe advances a theory which unites Taylor's exegetical discipline as a preacher with his creativity as a poet. This is the first work to draw on the collection of unpublished sermons, discovered in 1977, Upon the Types of the Old Testament. Professor Rowe links Taylor's sermons with corresponding poetic meditations, thus providing insights into typological theories, groupings and analogies. In her conclusion, the author sees Taylor as neither metaphysical or baroque, nor a historian in the typological school, but rather as the quintessential Puritan preacher and poet, a contemplative lyricist and devotional typologist in the tradition of Herbert, Milton and Bunyan.

「Nielsen BookData」より

[目次]

  • Preface
  • A note on the text
  • 1. The heritage of Puritan typology
  • 2. Prophets and poets: typology as illumination
  • 3. Of prophets, priests and kings: personalising the types
  • 4. Edward Taylor's Puritan 'worship-mould'
  • 5. New England's saints delivered
  • 6. Sacramental types: seals to the Covenant
  • 7. Preparing for the wedding feast
  • 8. The artistry of types
  • Appendices
  • Notes
  • Index.

「Nielsen BookData」より

[目次]

  • Preface
  • A note on the text
  • 1. The heritage of Puritan typology
  • 2. Prophets and poets: typology as illumination
  • 3. Of prophets, priests and kings: personalising the types
  • 4. Edward Taylor's Puritan 'worship-mould'
  • 5. New England's saints delivered
  • 6. Sacramental types: seals to the Covenant
  • 7. Preparing for the wedding feast
  • 8. The artistry of types
  • Appendices
  • Notes
  • Index.

「Nielsen BookData」より

この本の情報

書名 Saint and singer : Edward Taylor's typology and the poetics of meditation
著作者等 Rowe, Karen E.
Posnock, Ross
Gelpi, Albert
シリーズ名 Cambridge studies in American literature and culture
出版元 Cambridge University Press
刊行年月 1986
ページ数 xviii, 341 p.
大きさ 24 cm
ISBN 0521308658
9780521108195
NCID BA00901449
※クリックでCiNii Booksを表示
言語 英語
出版国 イギリス
この本を: 
このエントリーをはてなブックマークに追加

Yahoo!ブックマークに登録
この記事をクリップ!
Clip to Evernote
このページを印刷

外部サイトで検索

この本と繋がる本を検索

ウィキペディアから連想