St. Mawr and other stories

D.H. Lawrence ; edited by Brian Finney

St Mawr and Other Stories consists of the long novella St Mawr, two short stories 'The Overtone' and 'The Princess', and two unfinished stories 'The Wilful Woman' and 'The Flying Fish', all written during D. H. Lawrence's stay on the American continent between 1922 and 1925. The texts are newly edited from Lawrence's original manuscripts and typescripts, eliminating mistranscriptions and unauthorised alterations made by publishers and printers for reasons of housestyling, fear of prosecution or moral censoriousness. In some cases whole lines of text, which have been omitted in the first and subsequent editions, have been restored. The textual apparatus records all variants. The introduction uses unpublished material to trace the genesis and reception of each work. The notes give the translation of foreign words, the explanation of classical, biblical, literary and historical references and the reasoning behind some of the more involved textual cruces.

「Nielsen BookData」より


  • General editor's preface
  • Acknowledgements
  • Chronology
  • Cue-titles
  • Introduction
  • St. Mawr and Other Stories
  • Appendixes
  • Explanatory notes
  • Textual apparatus.

「Nielsen BookData」より


書名 St. Mawr and other stories
著作者等 Finney, Brian
Lawrence, D. H.
Black Michael
Boulton James T.
Vasey Lindeth
Worthen John
Lawrence D. H.
書名別名 The work of D.H. Lawrence

Saint Mawr and other stories
シリーズ名 The Cambridge edition of the letters and works of D.H. Lawrence
出版元 Cambridge University Press
刊行年月 1983
ページ数 xliii, 270 p.
大きさ 23 cm
ISBN 0521294258
NCID BA00225059
※クリックでCiNii Booksを表示
言語 英語
出版国 イギリス



Clip to Evernote