Fear and trembling ; Repetition

by Søren Kierkegaard ; edited and translated with introduction and notes by Howard V. Hong and Edna H. Hong

Presented here in a new translation, with a historical introduction by the translators, Fear and Trembling and Repetition are the most poetic and personal of Sren Kierkegaard's pseudonymous writings. Published in 1843 and written under the names Johannes de Silentio and Constantine Constantius, respectively, the books demonstrate Kierkegaard's transmutation of the personal into the lyrically religious. Each work uses as a point of departure Kierkegaard's breaking of his engagement to Regine Olsen--his sacrifice of "that single individual." From this beginning Fear and Trembling becomes an exploration of the faith that transcends the ethical, as in Abraham's willingness to sacrifice his son Isaac at God's command. This faith, which persists in the face of the absurd, is rewarded finally by the return of all that the faithful one is willing to sacrifice. Repetition discusses the most profound implications of unity of personhood and of identity within change, beginning with the ironic story of a young poet who cannot fulfill the ethical claims of his engagement because of the possible consequences of his marriage. The poet finally despairs of repetition (renewal) in the ethical sphere, as does his advisor and friend Constantius in the aesthetic sphere. The book ends with Constantius' intimation of a third kind of repetition--in the religious sphere.

「Nielsen BookData」より


書名 Fear and trembling ; Repetition
著作者等 Kierkegaard, Søren
Hong, Edna Hatlestad
Hong, Howard Vincent
Hong Edna H.
Hong Howard V.
Kierkegaard Soren
書名別名 Gjentagelsen

Frygt og bæven
シリーズ名 Kierkegaard's writings
出版元 Princeton University Press
刊行年月 c1983
ページ数 xxxix, 420 p.
大きさ 23 cm
ISBN 0691020264
NCID BA00138442
※クリックでCiNii Booksを表示
言語 英語
原文言語 デンマーク語
出版国 アメリカ合衆国

Clip to Evernote