Snow Falling on Chestnut Hill : New and Selected Poems

By (author) Deane, John F.

John F. Deane is a vital and generous presence in Irish poetry. New and Selected Poems gathers work from Deane's five previous Carcanet collections, alongside a new sequence, Snow Falling on Chestnut Hill. Written with an inquiring intelligence, these poems of a dozen years meditate on the relevance of Christian spirituality to our troubled times. Each of the twelve poems in the title sequence presents a movement of the spirit, from the author's childhood in the west of Ireland, through the death of a wife, to the birth of a grandchild. Arranged in the manner of an orchestral symphony, each section takes its cue from a different piece of music, from Beethoven's Ninth Symphony to Mozart's 'Laudate Dominum'. The sequence traces, phase by phase, the development of a Christian life. Faith, in its broadest sense, is inflected by imagination.

「Nielsen BookData」より


書名 Snow Falling on Chestnut Hill : New and Selected Poems
著作者等 Deane, John F.
書名別名 New and Selected Poems
出版元 Carcanet Press Ltd
刊行年月 2013.04.12
ページ数 176p
ISBN 9781847777140
言語 英語
出版国 イギリス